Baseball!

Hi y’all!  Miss me??  I was at a baseball game Wednesday and then I was sick yesterday and this morning.  I have had some sort of snotty nose, hacking, chilling on and off type of disease.  I am finally feeling better this evening which is an odd time to be feeling better all things considered, since I just got off work.  But I do have some stories to tell!

On Wednesday by the time the day was over I had done close to 4 miles on foot.  Wow!  I did good!  And again, I didn’t break a sweat or anything.  I was sooo happy that when I trucked through there, even upstairs, I had no issues going up or down the stairs, although I can’t say the same for my knees.  And since I was sick I was hacking and sneezing all through the game.  Ugh.  Yesterday I did around mile just walking at work and stuff.  I hate that I missed today but I did do close to 2 miles at work today so I suppose that will be ok for now.  I will get back on it tomorrow.

Wednesday I did our grocery shopping and then we took off for Cincinnati around 1. I found at the store diet vanilla syrup!  I had been wanting to find some Diet Vanilla Coke because I love vanilla coke.  I am glad I found that so when I do take a notion for a Diet Coke, I can make it with vanilla. I also found a couple of good pork roasts, one for $1.81 and one for $2 and something.  You can’t beat that!  I plan on crock potting one of them into some barbeque.

Whoever designed the road system or the GPS, I am not sure which, apparently has trouble with straight lines.  When I look at a map, I see Indiana, some land, then Cincy.  Oh no.  We have to go through Kentucky, then right into Cincinnati.  I hope that is the easiest way to get there.  Looking at it on the map, it may be the fastest. If not, well I guess we are going that way anyway.

We stopped in Lawrenceburg to get Annie something to eat, and then we moved on.  That place has a huge hill leading into it and I think it would be terrifying going down it in the winter.  So the next thing, on the bridge into Kentucky I believe, they were working on it.  Now I have no idea why but I have a mild sense of distress driving over these huge bridges and overpasses and things that shoot up in the air.  I did in Louisiana, and those overpasses seemed to really shoot up into the sky.  So we start toward this bridge and there is construction.  It is down to two lanes, both enclosed in concrete things.  I have to dodge the bridge on the right and the concrete divider on the left.  Oh.  My. Goodness.  I think that had to be one of the most terrifying moments of my life.  But the first time over it wasn’t bad.  I could deal with it. The second time, in the return lane was worse.  It was dark and the road was throwing me around and then the concrete dividers were not exactly even and on the right side of me over the concrete I am not sure if the bridge was out with nothing or what since it was dark, but I gripped that wheel with both hands and slowed down to like 30 something.  I don’t think I have ever been quite as freaked out, or happier to see the Indiana sign on the other side.  Mercy sakes.  And just for the record Cincy, Indy is a lot easier to get around in after dark.  No terrifying bridges or overpasses shooting in the sky.  Just sayin’.  And not that I mind either, because y’all know I LOVE to drive even if I feel like I am on a spaceship jetting into outer space.  Just stating a fact here.  🙂

Once we pop back into Ohio it is just a few minutes to the stadium.  We get into our parking space and walked to the stadium.  Derek had to run to keep up with me!  I was trucking on!  I walked that, with no sweating, no huffing or puffing!  I walked that like a boss!  The picture I am going to post a bit later here is me with one of the mascots, and the shirt I had on was WAY too big for me.  It is the only Reds shirt I have which is why I wore it anyway.  It isn’t that bad of a pic, but you will see and when compared to my other recent pics, it is funny looking.  I don’t mind it much because it does show shrinkage to my infernal chin although my shirt looks more like a dress.  We get to our seats and unfortunately no one comes out to sign.  Ugh.  Oh well.  I have a few pics from the whole thing and all.

I got one of my brats (bratwurst), which I think is the best brats in the world. Maybe it just tastes better because it is at a game.  I don’t know.  It was a good game although the Reds lost.  There was also a kid who jumped down and ran across the field in the middle of the game!  Found out just a bit ago he was from Noblesville, up north of Indy!  Oh dear.  That is just nuts.  People need to remember when you go to a show, you are to WATCH the show, not BE the show.  Being the show in someone else’s show does not have good consequences.  It was crazy though because that kid ran, and the police were on the field like magic.  I am not sure where they were but they sure showed up fast.

I got to see most of our favorite players, including BP, Frazier, Hamilton, Votto, you know the regular guys.  There were a few others there, including Suarez, and Diaz, and they were cool too.  But my favorite came out at the last.  Chapman.  He came out, I started hooping and stood up taking pics and Derek was like “Heel!”  Ha!  I guess!  Anyway I was glad to see him and every game we have been to, except the one that was rained out, he was there.  I sure miss Arroyo and Hanigan though, and Choo, well that was silly to let him go although I understand the mechanics behind all these people moving around and stuff.  They didn’t ask me but  I sure wish they had!

Throughout the whole game Derek would hoop and holler and I tell you there was someone across the way who would respond!  Then they were selling cotton candy and the guy who would sell it would walk by and call it sugar on a ….STICK.  He would emphasize the STICK.  I tried to video him and he didn’t do it.  Annie at one time had the seat next to her down and she said that she had an imaginary friend named Clem Cletus sitting with her.  Well never a dull moment with us around!

Here some of the pics I took.  I am aware that some of these have no significance unless you watch the Reds all the time but even if they don’t for you, they are still cool pics.  Enjoy!

Chappy again!
Chappy again!
Great American Ball Park Cincinnati Ohio
Great American Ball Park Cincinnati Ohio

IMG_2245

Chappy!
Chappy!
Me and the mascot.  My shirt is WAY too big.
Me and the mascot. My shirt is WAY too big.

IMG_2234

My husband Derek and I.
My husband Derek and I.
Hamilton
Hamilton
The big insurance building you see behind the stadium.
The big insurance building you see behind the stadium.
Our view from 5 rows back from the field on the Reds side.
Our view from 5 rows back from the field on the Reds side.
Mustache building.
Mustache building.
The building you with the Reds hat and mustache.
The building you see with the Reds hat and mustache.

For those who may be wondering, my brother is doing very well.  He has graduated to walking with a cane for now, and will be heading home soon.  He told me today he is feeling so much better and was amazed at how fast he was recovering and amazed at what a few days have done for him.  I stand corrected.  He is a Superman!  He was a Superman before and his healing progress just shows that he truly is a Superman.  Thank you all again for the prayers!

I also want to thank Iveth over at fortheloveto.com for reminding me about her link-up!  I do appreciate it!

I had better stop for today.  I am sure I will have more to say tomorrow, since unless I am gone or sick, I am never without something to say.  Night y’all!

2 thoughts on “Baseball!”

  1. I am so sorry to read you were sick … hope you feel better now…. I love sports and that baseball game look awesome .. hope you had enjoy it to the max!! thanks for sharing #Alittlebitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

