Skunks, Snakes, Lakes and a Wedding

Hi y’all!  What a day we had today!  I got up extra early to do our walking, which was 1 hour 4 minutes and 1.99 miles.  Later on in the day I added an additional 1 mile or so to it.  More on that later.  Our cat Zippy did come with us and walked the whole thing, extra lap and all.  I have pictures. 🙂  She is so pretty.  Meet Zippy.  🙂  When we get too far ahead of her she will start howling at us and we tend to wait or slow down for her.  She is something.

IMG_1017

On our walk today we covered many topics, including the plans for the day, which included a wedding, and some other stuff.  When we lapped the second or third time, we caught a whiff of a skunk.  Not sure where it was exactly but it was there.  We moved along, and on the next few laps we kept catching a whiff of it.  My daughter and I, and she may never admit it, we are truly geared the same.  I was thinking on the way down on our walk that in a few weeks, I may be able to jog this.  She mentioned out loud that one day soon I will be able to jog this!  Ha!  I proceeded to tell her that if the skunk appears, I may be jogging it long before I am ready.  She agreed.  I never did show itself.  That was fine by me.  I didn’t want to injure myself getting away from it nor have to bathe in tomato juice, which won’t really work anyway.  I’m a big girl–I would need to go to a tomato juice factory and dunk in their vats to get good coverage.  Ha!

I did notice one thing today.  My gut has less dunlop to it.  We all it dunlop because I am sure y’all have heard that silly joke, you know the one about do you have dunlop’s disease, where you gut has dunlopped over your pants?  Well mine wasn’t quite that bad but it has some dunlop to it.  And my daughter asked me about my lower gut.  We got into an interesting conversation about how women wear pants.  She said she could not wear hers like mine.  She wears hers on her hips. which people of my age refer to them as “hipsters.”  I told her that I hope someday to be able to fit in a pair of pants like that, with a trimmer gut.  I could now but man I would have serious dunlop problems.  Real ones at that point.  The good news is, in the clothes I wear around the house, I can feel differences in how they are fitting.  My tank tops that were a little tight are fitting better, my shorts that were a little tight are fitting better, I can feel my hips and butt area and it is going down, and all this is adding up to where I know I am doing good. In fact I need about two more holes in my belt now because it is getting to where it hangs on me as it is.  I just wish this infernal double chin would disappear!  I do exercises there too but it is SLOW, slower than the dunlop, to leave.  I think I may have mentioned yesterday that my thighs are going down too.  I love how this is all coming together.  I just have to keep at it.  But you know, feeling how I feel when I walk and not huff and puff and stuff (ha!) and seeing results, no matter how slow, is really motivating me.  I’m not about to stop now.

After our walk, I didn’t get to eat my regular breakfast because we had to leave to my brother-in-law’s wedding.  I had a yogurt but was still starving!  We missed the actual wedding part, because one there was limited room there and two Derek couldn’t get off work last night so we could go.  We got there right at about the time for the reception, but we were lost.  Yes folks, I got lost in my home state of Indiana.  Let me explain.

Patoka Lake is an area I have been familiar with all my life.  We used to go up there and fish when I was a kid.  I hadn’t been up there for years now, and never in a driving capacity.  I had directions, which were correct, after you got to the place to turn in to Patoka, which we like to never found.  We did get to drive by the lake on the way to the gate and boy I forgot how big it was!  I don’t think I had ever been to that side of it but it is huge!  The map they gave me showed it having many fingers and it goes on and on. So on the way there we took a few side roads in following the set of directions I had and we ran into two dead snakes and two live ones.  I determined that area up in there was just snakey.  Anyway, we called and got back on the right track and got there, which put us there a little later than everyone else.  Others drove forever trying to find it too, and even my brother-in-law had some troubles at some point finding it.  Derek thought he was late today but I am not sure about that one.  Once we got there, we spoke to some other family members and stuff and someone had brought dumplings!  Oh dumplings, how I love thee!  I am not supposed to have them but I did.  Like my sister-in-law Rhonda told me, you have to have some things you like or you will never stick with it.  Yes indeed, but I need to stick with it more than not!  But If I understood they were made by Derek’s Aunt Norma or Wanda (not sure) and they always bring them to a reunion.  MMMMMM…..

So after I ate I had to go to the bathroom, which was all the way across a huge parking lot.  No issues there.  I didn’t mind huffing it across the lot, and I did it with no huffing!  I also noticed getting in and out of the picnic tables I was able to get up and down with no leg issues, bending issues, huffing or puffing!  I am making progress! Then on the other side of the place where we were at the road ended in a boat dock so we walked down there and took some pics.  Beautiful place up there, and I had forgotten how beautiful it was.

IMG_1031 IMG_1035 IMG_1038 IMG_1040 IMG_1044 IMG_1046 IMG_1048 IMG_1049 IMG_1050 IMG_1056 IMG_1061

The next one is my son, who wasn’t too happy I took his picture and me.  I am looking better in pics but I have another one or two to post of me and I can’t stand my infernal chin.  It is leaving but slowly.

IMG_1051 IMG_1067

Once we got back to the shelter house, most everyone had left so I was able to get some pics with Dee and Tasha, and Derek’s cousin Steve, and us.  Here they are.  The first one is Tasha and Dee, Derek’s brother, and Tasha and Dee and Derek next.  Then Tasha, Dee and Steve, and the last ones are Tasha, Dee, Derek and me.

IMG_1081 IMG_1084  IMG_1100IMG_1099

Funny story about taking these pics.  I had leaned on Derek where I was standing and he was like whoa and laughing.  I asked him if I had almost knocked him over and he was like no, he was thinking of something else!  Ha!  It is just nice to know after 18 1/2 years of being together he still looks at me like that, dunlopped gut and all.  I guess in the grand scheme of things my looks aren’t that important except for my health.  But it will be nice to look and feel better.

We came home and watched the Reds game.  Not sure what happened there but they lost by 2.  That wasn’t right.  I put a pot roast on for tomorrow.  It has a roast (obviously), potatoes and green beans.  I have blown the carb eating out of the water this week but I hope to slow down and get back to normal.  It is hard to find low carb when you ain’t at home.  The one positive thing I can say is that the carbs I am eating are natural, they aren’t in added sugar or anything like that.  The yogurt I ate this morning had like 16 carbs in it but it was made with sweetener I think.  I do think that this is a good thing and if I can limit the carbs I do eat to natural ones then that is a good step.  I am adding extra exercise in and have eliminated the sugar but I don’t want to go overboard regardless.  I have worked too hard to screw it up now. The only problem with pot roast is I will be up all night now smelling it.  🙂

I believe this is all I have for today.  Have a great night y’all!  Will blog more tomorrow, of course, and I may even go into things that make me who I am such as things that happened as a kid and stuff.  I am sure it will be interesting to someone.

–S

Leave a Reply

